The minimum wage in Maine is $5.15 per hour through 12/31/01, $5.75 as of 1/1/02 and $6.25 as of 1/1/03.
Exempted from coverage under Maine's minimum wage law are individuals
employed (1) in agriculture, (2) in domestic service, (3) in occupations not
subject to close supervision and in which earnings are derived in whole or in
part from sales commissions, (4) as taxicab drivers, (5) in public-supported or
educational nonprofit organizations, (6) as counselors or student employees
under 19 years old, employed at camps owned or operated by corporations without
capital stock, (7) in the fishing industry, (8) as switchboard operators in
public telephone exchanges with less than 750 stations, (9) as unsupervised
homeworkers, (10) as relatives who live with and depend on the employer or (11)
in a bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacity with a salary
of not less than $175 weekly.