The minimum wage is $5.15 per hour in West Virginia.
West Virginia's minimum wage law covers all public and private employers with six or more employees in one location or establishment unless 80 percent or more of the employees are covered by federal minimum and overtime wage provisions.
The following categories of employees are excluded from the definition of
employee: (1) agricultural workers; (2) federal employees; (3) state-employed
fire fighters; (4) individuals engaged in educational, charitable, religious,
fraternal or nonprofit activities where the employer/employee relationship does
not exist or where services are voluntary; (5) persons who deliver newspapers,
persons who shine shoes, golf caddies, pin setters and pin chasers in bowling
lanes, and ushers in theaters; (6) traveling or outside salespersons; (7)
individuals employed by their immediate families; (8) individuals employed in
bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacities; (9) individuals
employed on a part-time basis who are students; (10) persons engaged in
on-the-job training; (11) "handicapped" individuals in a nonprofit
sheltered workshop; (12) individuals employed by local or interurban motor bus
carriers; (13) employees of a children's summer camp; and (14) persons 62 years
of age or older who receive Social Security benefits.